A good place to start – backstory

September, 2002, my other half decided to buy a house, without me seeing it.  Let me tell you, this was more a big deal than you may think. You see, we had been looking for a house to do up anyway, but it had to be liveable at the same time. We had a small child, both worked, and wanted to jump onto the house boom that was happening in coastal areas of the northern suburbs of Queensland. 

One day, whilst I was at a conference in the City,  he decided to check out a ‘Home Open” that was in our preferred location. It was no good, the house was tiny,  the block tiny, and the house was not at all what we wanted. As he drove home, just 2 streets away, he witnessed an auction. Curiosity killed the cat, as they say, and as he stopped, the auction closed with the property passed in. He ventured inside, and chatted with agent.

That afternoon, I received a call on my mobile. “Honey, I shrunk the savings”. Yep, he had done it, gone and bought a house without me. 

The next day I witnessed, for my own eyes, the property he had purchased for a ‘bargain’. No wonder it was a bargain. It was, really, nothing more than a dilapidated dump. And if you think I am joking, or exaggerating in any way, then this blog will convert you.

You will become a believer in miracles.

In September 2002, I began an electronic journal of progress of the renovations. Here, I  will slowly move my writings (in original form and with the original dates, if I can) here, and some of the photos. Room by room, dismal dank dusty dire room by room, you can follow the first years of renovations beginning from 2002, whilst chuckling to yourself and enjoying your glass or two of red in the cosiness of your yummy home, whilst you look at what I have had to live with the fun over the last 6 years.

But I do have the last laugh on the naysayers who saw the house at the beginning of the trip. For those fiscal – we have quadrupled our money – and I have a lifetime of stories to eat out on.

Sit back, relax, enjoy.

2 Responses to “A good place to start – backstory”

  1. Belinda Says:

    hi rhubarb – am very much looking forward to watching the transformation! i hear your pain on hideous homes. one day i hope to actually finish my own… it’s been 5 years this month! eek! thanks for visiting my spot on the web! cheers, belinda
    http://www.renovateanddecorate.blogspot.com
    http://www.minimeez.blogspot.com

  2. molly Says:

    You must love him a lot not to have knifed him in his sleep—doing that without you!! Obviously it[the chance you took and all the backbreaking labour!] paid off as the finished pics [yes, I peeked, no will power!] are of an elegant gorgeous house!


Leave a Reply

